top of page

new week, new glow: a one-on-one chat with Subomi Ajibola



Subomi Ajibola is the founder of The Reflective Space Podcast (formerly Dear SG The Podcast), a podcast and platform that encourages honest and meaningful conversations aimed at being your most authentic self at all times. She is a strong believer in empowerment and mentorship and strives to portray that through her public speaking and being a panelist on numerous gatherings, discussing social issues that sometimes are not brought up at the dinner table. She is certainly a changemaker and a force to most definitely be reckoned with.


Talk about Black Girl Magic at its finest!


Today we shine the spotlight on this female mastermind and ask her about her brand and what she envisions for the future, as well as the societal unrest ongoing now in Nigeria.




 



What is The Reflective Space podcast/platform and how did you come about it?


The Reflective Space is a podcast and community centered around conversations, stories, life experiences and active tools to help people develop a better relationship with themselves and those around them.

TRS was initially Dear SG The Podcast. Although the intention behind the brand remained the same after the rebrand, my motivations and positioning changed slightly. I started Dear SG when I was at university and then it was just a podcast. With the Reflective Space I want to create a community that people can engage with in multiple ways.

What do you want listeners to take way from your platform/podcast?


I like my listeners to take away whatever they need, whatever they feel is relevant to them. It's so amazing for me when I get feedback from episodes and listeners tell me things I could never have imagined would be the impact. Nevertheless, with every episode, if nothing else, I want my listeners to feel seen and supported.





Your podcast is about personal growth and enlightenment on social issues. What do you think is the most underrated social issue in modern-day Nigeria?


Where does one start with Nigeria's problems?? But if I had to pick one I would say Nigeria underestimates the significance of basic amenities (electricity, good roads, clean water, health care, education). If one of the five things I've mentioned were fully functioning in Nigeria, even that alone would change lives drastically.


What do you think is the key to growing a podcast?

People say consistency ( I agree, although I don't always practice lol). I think authenticity is also super important for growth. You will always attract the right audience being your true self.





There is no doubt that Nigeria, our dear country is experiencing a revolution that may possibly impact generations to come. What is your take on the current #EndSARS protest happening in Nigeria?


A protest or some form of public outrage was long overdue in Nigeria. I was recently asked what one of my favorite things is about Nigerians/being a Nigerian and my answer was resilience. Following the recent events, I'm starting to think resilience is overrated. None wants to keep suffering simply because they have the capability to bounce back and adapt. It's an honor for me to be a part of the youths of this generation, youths that not only speak up but take action. However, I'm completely heartbroken and saddened by the lives due to this movement. Enough is enough. It's time our leaders did their damn jobs.




Who is your dream collaboration?


Any collaboration that has financial benefits is my dream collaboration lmao 💰 (okay, preferably ethical and aligned with my brand values.)


Describe yourself in 3 words.

Sugar, spice and everything nice 😘

My professional answer - Intelligent, Assertive, Compassionate.



Make sure to follow Subomi Ajibola on Instagram, @subomiaj, and on Twitter: @SubomiAj

Also make sure you visit the Reflective Space website and follow them on Instagram: @thereflective.space







And we cannot end this post without asking our dear viewers to please visit endsars.com and join in the protest, online or in person. We will not stop until our freedom and our demands are met.




Until next time, stay true to yourself.



sayonara.



25 views0 comments
bottom of page